Training FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any questions that are not answered here, you can get answers from a live person over the phone or chat.

  • Is the training free?
    Yes – even better than free – it's paid. You'll become an employee on day one, so we're paying you during your time in training.
  • What if I have a license from out of state?
    At this time, we are only permitted to accept students with valid Ohio drivers' licenses.
  • Will you hire someone with a felony?
    Anyone with criminal history is invited to apply. We will run a background check and take that into consideration when hiring.
  • How much do I get paid during training?
    The short answer is you can expect to make $50k-$60k during your first year. The long answer is: During the first four weeks, you'll be paid hourly, and then you're paid by the mile the rest of your first year, with the addition of stop pay, detention pay, and opportunities for performance bonuses every 4 weeks. For more specifics, check out Training Schedule.
  • How often do I get paid?
    Here at Mast Trucking everyone gets their paycheck weekly, every Friday.
  • Will I train in an automatic or a manual?
    You will learn to drive using an automatic transmission.
  • What happens if I don't pass my CDL?
    Depending on the circumstances, you will have two or three chances to pass your exam. Our goal is to help you feel confident and complete prepared to pass the test!
  • How big is your training class?
    We believe in a personalized class for each participant, so we keep our training to a ratio of one instructor to every four students.
  • What is a functional capacity exam?
    This is the test that you'll take during your first week of training that ensures your ability to do job-related duties like pulling a fifth-wheel pin and getting in and out of your truck. The functional capacity exam (FCE) is performed on Day 1 of training alongside a DOT physical and drug testing. The purpose of the FCE is to ensure our trainees can safely perform job duties that require them to push, pull, lift, climb, and more.
  • What happens after training?
    After you get your CDL and graduate both Mast 1.0 and Mast 2.0, you'll be going solo! You'll be out on your own in your own assigned truck. For more info on your first year, check out Training Schedule
  • How long does the training take?
    The entirety of training is 100,000 miles, which takes drivers about one year to complete. That training breaks down in to three basic components: Mast 1.0 (about 4 weeks), Mast 2.0 (about 4 weeks), and Solo 100k (about one year).
  • Can I pay for my contract up front?
    No, buying out your contract prior to training is not an option.
  • Do I have to have my permit to start the program?
    A permit is not required to start training; it is however recommended. If you are unable to obtain your permit before starting, you will have three opportunities to get your permit during your first week of training.
  • How much is tuition?
    There actually is no tuition, you are paid to train with us! You'll become an employee on day one, so we're paying you during your time in training. All we ask in return is your commitment to finish the program.
  • Do I have to pass a drug test?
    Yes, we have a company policy that requires a hair and urine drug screen.
  • Where are you located; do you have other locations?
    We have two terminals, two locations. One terminal in Canton, Ohio and a second in Millersburg, Ohio, which is where our training program takes place. Once you have some experience solo driving, you would be able to be based out of the Canton location, if that is closer to your home.
  • How long is the hiring process?
    With accurate information provided, the hiring process can be relatively quick. We start new classes every Monday!
  • How much do I get paid?
    You can expect to make $50-60k in your first year as a professional driver.
    In Mast 1.0 (about 4-5 weeks), you can expect between $370-$440 per week.
    In Mast 2.0 (about 4-5 weeks), you will make $.22 per mile.
    At 11,000 miles, this equates to $2,420 (or $605 per week).
    Once you go solo for your first 100k miles, you will earn $.50 per mile, plus the additional Stop Pay, Performance Pay, and Delivery Detention.
  • When do I get my CDL?
    Our program is fast-paced with clear outlined expectations. Along with building a foundation for your professional truck driving career, we work diligently in the first two weeks to prepare you for testing in weeks three and four, for your Class A CDL.
  • Can I get my Class B CDL through your program?
    No, we do not offer Class B CDL Training.
  • Will I have home time?
    We as a family run business pride ourselves on offering many different pay plans to fit the needs of each individual driver.
  • Will you take out-of-state trainees?
    At this time, we are only permitted to accept candidates with valid Ohio Driver Licenses, as well as those who live within two hours of our Millersburg location.
  • Do you offer night classes?
    Not currently. We hire candidates into our company, training them and paying them as a fulltime employee.

Take

Your Next Step